Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

Pro-E / PTC sucks

mattraby

I am a relatively new Pro-E user. To date my opinion of Pro-Eand PTC is LOW. Customer service is awful. Tech support is barely there.

Maybe because I've used Inventor and Solidworks, I have the opinion that everything revolving around Pro-E is convoluted. It seems that I have to take 20 steps to achieve what would only take 3 steps in other softwares. I've yet to find any advantage to using Pro-e over others I've used.

I feel like I wasted my money. I should have just spent the money in Las Vegas, it would have been a better return on investment.
smiley18.gif

I understand you perfectly.

Despite a clear improvement (WF) and willingness to make things userfriendly the interface and inner workings of ProE are old fashioned. And I'm afraid it will stay cumbersome as much is related to the internal machinery. Clearly ProE is set up by programmers with their ease of life central and not developed to make it "smooth working" for the users. I know from experience that it's a lot easier to write software where you don't do anything until all parameters are in place than to write a program where you try to capture the users intent and intelligently guide him through the process, allowing a flexible approach and filling in the gaps that the user leaves behind.

While ProE may be a fine modeler when you know what you're going for, it lags behind where evolving design is concerned. When "carving and cutting" a setup you want to be flexible. The last thing you want is CAD that says "I can't figure this out, giving up". Changing a parameter in ProE, causing a face to be no longer there, is enough to blow up a part and subsequently the entire assembly. This is where "my other CAD" is much more flexible and forgiving.